WFSBP Awards

The following WFSBP Awards were delivered and presented during the 13th World Congress of Biological Psychiatry 2017 in Copenhagen.

New: Young Investigator Award

WFSBP is offering Educational Grants for young investigators to attend the WFSBP biennial congress and the special educational sessions. These sessions are especially designed for young researchers (under 40 year-old) which will be pre-selected via an application process. The grant includes a travel grant of EUR 400 plus free registration to the WFSBP Congress. Payments will be made in Euro after the congress.

Award Winner 2017:

Melanie Ashton, Australia
Sofi Atshemyan, Armenia
Lucie Bartova, Austria
Chiara Cristina Bortolasci, Australia
Julius Burkauskas, Lithuania
Trisha Chakrabarty, Canada
Michaela Filiou, Germany
Firoz Kazhungil, India
Srisaiyini Kidnapillai, Australia
Bruno Kluwe-Schiavon, Switzerland
Karishma Kulkarni, India
Sagar Lavania, India
Chieh-Hsin Lin, Taiwan
Amanda Lyall, USA
Eleonora Maggioni, Italy
   Maddalena Mauri, Italy
Ahmed Mhalla, Tunisia
Blazej Misiak, Poland
Narayan R. Mutalik, India
Pradip Paul, India
Alessandro Pigoni, Italy
Gopinath Sathyanarayanan, India
André Schmidt, Switzerland
Leigh van den Heuvel, South Africa
Nora S. Vyas, United Kingdom
Gwyneth Zai, Canada
Clement Zai, Canada
Roksana Zakharyan, Armenia
Mikhail Zastrozhin, Russia
Julia Zaytseva, Czech Republic



WFSBP Research Prize

The WFSBP Research Prize is intended for WFSBP members (MD, PhD or equivalent) whose current scientific work has had an important impact in the field of clinical and / or basic research in the area of biological psychiatry. This prize consists of a monetary award of EUR 1,000.

Award Winner 2017:
Eduard Vieta, Spain

WFSBP Award for Excellence in Education

The WFSBP Award for Excellence in Education is to acknowledge outstanding and innovative education in biological psychiatry including the implementation of new interactive media. The WFSBP Education prize is open to all WFSBP members who have improved the education in all fields of Psychiatry. This award consists of a monetary award of EUR 1,000.

Award Winner 2017:
Florence Thibaut, France

WFSBP Award for Scientific Excellence of the WFSBP Host

The WFSBP Award for Scientific Excellence of the WFSBP Host is dedicated to an outstanding researcher in the field of Biological Psychiatry originating from the host country of the World Congress of Biological Psychiatry. This award consists of a monetary award of EUR 1,000.

Award Winner 2017:
Per Bech, Denmark


Poster Prizes: WFSBP Young Investigator Awards for the eight best posters (under 40 year-old)

An application for the Young Investigator Award is not necessary. All posters will be evaluated at the congress. The awards will go to those presentations that not only provide evidence of innovative research, but which are also well presented. Please note that presenting authors must register and attend the meeting to be eligible for these awards. Poster prizes will be delivered during the Closing Ceremony.

Best Poster Award Winner 2017:

Monday, 19 June 2017

Michaela Filiou

Beatriche Henriksen



Tuesday, 20 June 2017

Shohei Nishimon

Amanda Lyall



Wednesday, 21 June 2017

Synthia Guimond

Stefano Comai



Thursday, 22 June 2017

Morten Dybdahl Krebs

Kazutaka Ohi